12月20日の日記
2007年12月20日There are 2 messages totalling 93 lines in this issue.
Topics of the day:
1. Copying abilities and fece-down cards
2. Prevention Effects and spells on the stack
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Date: Tue, 18 Dec 2007 15:32:20 -0700
From: Gavin Duggan
Subject: Re: Copying abilities and fece-down cards
On 13/12/2007, Julian Impelluso wrote:
> I’ve been trying to figure out what would happen if a player controlling a
> Quicksilver Elemental [and a Wall of Deceit did a little dance on the stack].
>
> I’m confused because I know abilities of cards besides Morph don’t matter
> when it’s face-down,
Herein lies the problem. While Morph erases any abilities printed on
the card, and any abilities granted by copy effects in layer one...
any abilities granted to the permanent by continuous efects in layer 5
are applied AFTER morph "blanks" the card, so they’ll stick around.
For example; if you have a morph creature enchanted with Hermetic
Study.. that 2/2 featureless creature will still have the ability to
zap things (regardless of whether it was facedown or not when the Aura
became attached).
Hermetic Study
Enchantment - Aura
Enchant creature
Enchanted creature has "Tap: This creature deals 1 damage to target player."
So, In the case above of the face down Quicksilver Elemental gaining
an ability (maybe I should have used Quicksilver Dagger in my example
above, for Doubleplus Extra Confusion!) ... it will still have
that ability to tap for mana. That’s because (as above) the QE
ability resolving generates a layer 5 continuous effect on the QE,
regardless of what it looks like. When it then becomes face down..
that change happens "below" the continuous effect.
--
Gavin Duggan, L3 Calgary: MTGRULES-L Netrep
Please read the list protocol before posting to this list:
* http://www.invisiblejuggernaut.org/DCIJUDGEL_protocol.html
------------------------------
Date: Wed, 19 Dec 2007 14:29:36 -0200
From: Thales
Subject: Prevention Effects and spells on the stack
Hi everyone.
Player A plays a Giant Solifuge. Player B responds with a Hallow
targeting Giant Solifuge spell. Later on that turn, Player A attacked
with that Giant Solifuge. Will be its combat damage prevented?
I know it will if the prevention effect comes of a Circle of
Protection. In the CoP case, "source" can refer to both the spell on
the stack and the creature in play.
But Hallow requires a target that is a spell. Can rule 413.2a prevent
the damage of being prevented?
Giant Solifuge
2(R/G)(R/G)
Creature - Insect 4/1
Trample, haste, shroud.
Hallow
W
Instant
Prevent all damage target spell would deal this turn. You gain life
equal to the damage prevented this way.
Circle of Protection: Red
1W
Enchantment
1: The next time a red source of your choice would deal damage to you
this turn, prevent that damage.
MCR 413.2a
[...]If the spell or ability is not countered, it will resolve
normally, affecting only the targets that are still legal. If a target
is illegal, the spell or ability can’t perform any actions on it or
make the target perform any actions.
Thanks,
--
Thales Bittencourt de Oliveira
L1, Brazil
------------------------------
End of MTGRULES-L Digest - 18 Dec 2007 to 19 Dec 2007 (#2007-269)
*****************************************************************
Topics of the day:
1. Copying abilities and fece-down cards
2. Prevention Effects and spells on the stack
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Date: Tue, 18 Dec 2007 15:32:20 -0700
From: Gavin Duggan
Subject: Re: Copying abilities and fece-down cards
On 13/12/2007, Julian Impelluso wrote:
> I’ve been trying to figure out what would happen if a player controlling a
> Quicksilver Elemental [and a Wall of Deceit did a little dance on the stack].
>
> I’m confused because I know abilities of cards besides Morph don’t matter
> when it’s face-down,
Herein lies the problem. While Morph erases any abilities printed on
the card, and any abilities granted by copy effects in layer one...
any abilities granted to the permanent by continuous efects in layer 5
are applied AFTER morph "blanks" the card, so they’ll stick around.
For example; if you have a morph creature enchanted with Hermetic
Study.. that 2/2 featureless creature will still have the ability to
zap things (regardless of whether it was facedown or not when the Aura
became attached).
Hermetic Study
Enchantment - Aura
Enchant creature
Enchanted creature has "Tap: This creature deals 1 damage to target player."
So, In the case above of the face down Quicksilver Elemental gaining
an ability (maybe I should have used Quicksilver Dagger in my example
above, for Doubleplus Extra Confusion!) ... it will still have
that ability to tap for mana. That’s because (as above) the QE
ability resolving generates a layer 5 continuous effect on the QE,
regardless of what it looks like. When it then becomes face down..
that change happens "below" the continuous effect.
--
Gavin Duggan, L3 Calgary: MTGRULES-L Netrep
Please read the list protocol before posting to this list:
* http://www.invisiblejuggernaut.org/DCIJUDGEL_protocol.html
------------------------------
Date: Wed, 19 Dec 2007 14:29:36 -0200
From: Thales
Subject: Prevention Effects and spells on the stack
Hi everyone.
Player A plays a Giant Solifuge. Player B responds with a Hallow
targeting Giant Solifuge spell. Later on that turn, Player A attacked
with that Giant Solifuge. Will be its combat damage prevented?
I know it will if the prevention effect comes of a Circle of
Protection. In the CoP case, "source" can refer to both the spell on
the stack and the creature in play.
But Hallow requires a target that is a spell. Can rule 413.2a prevent
the damage of being prevented?
Giant Solifuge
2(R/G)(R/G)
Creature - Insect 4/1
Trample, haste, shroud.
Hallow
W
Instant
Prevent all damage target spell would deal this turn. You gain life
equal to the damage prevented this way.
Circle of Protection: Red
1W
Enchantment
1: The next time a red source of your choice would deal damage to you
this turn, prevent that damage.
MCR 413.2a
[...]If the spell or ability is not countered, it will resolve
normally, affecting only the targets that are still legal. If a target
is illegal, the spell or ability can’t perform any actions on it or
make the target perform any actions.
Thanks,
--
Thales Bittencourt de Oliveira
L1, Brazil
------------------------------
End of MTGRULES-L Digest - 18 Dec 2007 to 19 Dec 2007 (#2007-269)
*****************************************************************
コメント