12月22日の日記
2007年12月21日There are 7 messages totalling 256 lines in this issue.
Topics of the day:
1. Knucklebone Witch and Lignify
2. Prevention Effects and spells on the stack
3. Mindleech Mass x Serra Avenger (2)
4. Text-changing effects
5. Aura Swap (2)
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Date: Wed, 19 Dec 2007 12:07:13 -0700
From: Gavin Duggan
Subject: Re: Knucklebone Witch and Lignify
On 17/12/2007, Yuval Tzur wrote:
> One of my fellow judges asked me today the following question:
> Player A has Knucklebone Witch in play and another goblin enchanted with
> Lignify. Said goblin is destroyed. Will Knucklebone Witch get the counter, or not?
The "root" of the question, as you surmised, is whether the triggered
ability is based on the game state pre-transition or after it’s put
into the graveyard.
A good rule of thumb is that such triggers are "In-play centric": if
the in-play zone is part of the transition, then we always use the in
play zone (That’s why Cloudchaser Eagle can’t target Humility). It’s
certainly true in this case... the ability triggers from play; or
rather in this case it doesn’t trigger because the creature is not a
goblin when it leaves play.
So... no knuckles for the witch.
--
Gavin Duggan, L3 Calgary: MTGRULES-L Punrep
Please read the list protocol before posting to this list:
* http://www.invisiblejuggernaut.org/DCIJUDGEL_protocol.html
------------------------------
Date: Wed, 19 Dec 2007 12:33:33 -0700
From: Gavin Duggan
Subject: Re: Prevention Effects and spells on the stack
On 19/12/2007, Thales wrote:
> Hi everyone.
> Player A plays a Giant Solifuge. Player B responds with a Hallow
> targeting Giant Solifuge spell. Later on that turn, Player A attacked
> with that Giant Solifuge.
> Can rule 413.2a prevent the damage ?
413.2a can’t, but 217.1c(c) can:
"Prevention effects that apply to damage from an artifact, creature,
enchantment, or planeswalker spell on the stack will continue to apply
to damage from the permanent that spell becomes."
So yes, Hallow can affect a hasty creature while it’s still a spell.
I’m not sure Giant Solifuge would fit through that little ring of
white light though.
--
Gavin Duggan, L3 Calgary: MTGRULES-L Netrep
Please read the list protocol before posting to this list:
* http://www.invisiblejuggernaut.org/DCIJUDGEL_protocol.html
------------------------------
Date: Thu, 20 Dec 2007 05:29:17 -0200
From: S=?ISO-8859-1?Q?=C3=AD=C2=ADlton?= Leonardo Paiva Nunes
Subject: Mindleech Mass x Serra Avenger
Gavin wrote: "Mindleech Mass provides the opportunity for Player A to play a
spell, but does not overrule timing restrictions on when the Avenger
can be played."
I believe that Avenger’s restriction only applies to player B, because
Avenger is on player B’s hand, so Avenger’s static ability refers to
player B.
Oracle:
Serra Avenger
WW
Creature - Angel
3/3
***YOU*** can’t play Serra Avenger during your first, second, or third
turns of the game.
Flying, vigilance
----------------------------------------------------------------
This message was sent using IMP, the Internet Messaging Program.
------------------------------
Date: Thu, 20 Dec 2007 00:31:28 -0800
From: Lee Sharpe
Subject: Re: Mindleech Mass x Serra Avenger
On Dec 19, 2007 11:29 PM, S=C3=AD=C2=ADlton Leonardo Paiva Nunes
wrote:
>
> Gavin wrote: "Mindleech Mass provides the opportunity for Player A to pla=
y a
> spell, but does not overrule timing restrictions on when the Avenger
> can be played."
>
> I believe that Avenger’s restriction only applies to player B, because
> Avenger is on player B’s hand, so Avenger’s static ability refers to
> player B.
You are wrong. Gavin’s answer is correct. "You" here refers to the
player attempting to play the spell, not the owner of the card. The
definition of "You" in the glossary states: "The words ’you’ and
’your’ on an object refer to ... its would-be controller (if a player
is attempting to play it)"
And you have been on this long enough to know that correcting a NetRep
on the list is not appropriate (especially, but not only, if the
NetRep is correct to begin with). Send a private e-mail to Gavin
instead next time you believe an answer is incorrect.
--=20
Lee Sharpe, lee.sharpe@gmail.com
DCI Level 3 Judge
WotC NetRep for EFnet’s #mtgjudge
------------------------------
Date: Thu, 20 Dec 2007 23:28:02 +1100
From: Graham White
Subject: Text-changing effects
I have two questions about text-changing effects
=20
Firstly, if I play Eyeblights Ending, or Terror, which of these can I do wi=
th Artificial Evolution or Mind Bend?
=20
1) Change "non-Elf" to "non-Goblin"
2) Change "non-Elf" to "Goblin"
3) Change "nonblack" to "nonred"
4) Change "nonblack" to "green"
=20
I think 1 and 3 are possible, but I’m confused by not being able to find a =
definition of "color word" anywhere.
=20
=20
If I create a Kithkin Soldier Token, and I target it with Artificial Evolut=
ion, changing "Kithkin" to "Frog", it is now a Frog Soldier. Its name is st=
ill "Kithkin Soldier" though, right?
=20
Thanks,
Graham White
Level 1 - Sydney
=20
=20
Eyeblight’s Ending 2B
Tribal Instant -- Elf
Destroy target non-Elf creature.
=20
Terror 1B
Instant
Destroy target nonartifact, nonblack creature. It can’t be regenerated.=20
=20
Artificial Evolution U=20
Instant
Change the text of target spell or permanent by replacing all instances of =
one creature type with another. The new creature type can’t be Wall.
=20
Mind Bend U
Instant
Change the text of target permanent by replacing all instances of one color=
word with another or one basic land type with another.
=20
_________________________________________________________________
Overpaid or Underpaid? Check our comprehensive Salary Centre
http://a.ninemsn.com.au/b.aspx?URL=3Dhttp%3A%2F%2Fcontent%2Emycareer%2Ecom%=
2Eau%2Fsalary%2Dcentre%3Fs%5Fcid%3D595810&_t=3D766724125&_r=3DHotmail_Email=
_Tagline_MyCareer_Oct07&_m=3DEXT=
------------------------------
Date: Fri, 21 Dec 2007 00:53:05 +1100
From: Graham White
Subject: Aura Swap
One of the examples in the Comprehensive Rules for 502.62b is the following=
:
=20
Example: You play the aura swap ability of an Aura that you control but you=
don’t own. The ability has no effect.
=20
Why is this the case, rather than the exchange taking place, 217.1a sending=
the Aura to its owner’s hand, and the Aura from your hand ending up in pla=
y? Does 217.1a’s sending the Aura to a different place count as one half of=
the exchange not being able to be completed?
=20
Thanks,
Graham White
Level 1 - Sydney
=20
502.62. Aura Swap
502.62a Aura swap is an activated ability of some Aura cards. "Aura swap [c=
ost]" means "[Cost]: You may exchange this permanent with an Aura card in y=
our hand."
502.62b If either half of the exchange can=92t be completed, the ability ha=
s no effect.
=20
=20
_________________________________________________________________
Your Future Starts Here. Dream it? Then be it! Find it at www.seek.com.au
http://a.ninemsn.com.au/b.aspx?URL=3Dhttp%3A%2F%2Fninemsn%2Eseek%2Ecom%2Eau=
%2F%3Ftracking%3Dsk%3Ahet%3Ask%3Anine%3A0%3Ahot%3Atext&_t=3D764565661&_r=3D=
OCT07_endtext_Future&_m=3DEXT=
------------------------------
Date: Thu, 20 Dec 2007 10:22:40 -0700
From: Gavin Duggan
Subject: Re: Aura Swap
On Dec 20, 2007 6:53 AM, Graham White wrote:
> You play the aura swap ability of an Aura that you control but you don’t own. The ability has no effect.
>
> Why is this the case, rather than the exchange taking place, 217.1a sending the Aura to its owner’s hand,
> and the Aura from your hand ending up in play?
"Exchange Aura Swap with an Aura in your hand" sounds like "Return
Aura Swap to your hand, and put an Aura from your hand into play
attached to the same creature"... but it’s not the same.
If Aura Swap did use the latter wording then it would work as you
specified above, because of CR217.1a. However, in order to exchange
two things each has to end up as the other was. Since it’s not
possible for the Aura swap to end up in your hand, the exchange is
impossible and nothing happens to either object [CR Glossary
"Exchange"].
--
Gavin Duggan, L3 Calgary: MTGRULES-L Netrep
Please read the list protocol before posting to this list:
* http://www.invisiblejuggernaut.org/DCIJUDGEL_protocol.html
------------------------------
End of MTGRULES-L Digest - 19 Dec 2007 to 20 Dec 2007 (#2007-270)
*****************************************************************
Topics of the day:
1. Knucklebone Witch and Lignify
2. Prevention Effects and spells on the stack
3. Mindleech Mass x Serra Avenger (2)
4. Text-changing effects
5. Aura Swap (2)
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Date: Wed, 19 Dec 2007 12:07:13 -0700
From: Gavin Duggan
Subject: Re: Knucklebone Witch and Lignify
On 17/12/2007, Yuval Tzur wrote:
> One of my fellow judges asked me today the following question:
> Player A has Knucklebone Witch in play and another goblin enchanted with
> Lignify. Said goblin is destroyed. Will Knucklebone Witch get the counter, or not?
The "root" of the question, as you surmised, is whether the triggered
ability is based on the game state pre-transition or after it’s put
into the graveyard.
A good rule of thumb is that such triggers are "In-play centric": if
the in-play zone is part of the transition, then we always use the in
play zone (That’s why Cloudchaser Eagle can’t target Humility). It’s
certainly true in this case... the ability triggers from play; or
rather in this case it doesn’t trigger because the creature is not a
goblin when it leaves play.
So... no knuckles for the witch.
--
Gavin Duggan, L3 Calgary: MTGRULES-L Punrep
Please read the list protocol before posting to this list:
* http://www.invisiblejuggernaut.org/DCIJUDGEL_protocol.html
------------------------------
Date: Wed, 19 Dec 2007 12:33:33 -0700
From: Gavin Duggan
Subject: Re: Prevention Effects and spells on the stack
On 19/12/2007, Thales wrote:
> Hi everyone.
> Player A plays a Giant Solifuge. Player B responds with a Hallow
> targeting Giant Solifuge spell. Later on that turn, Player A attacked
> with that Giant Solifuge.
> Can rule 413.2a prevent the damage ?
413.2a can’t, but 217.1c(c) can:
"Prevention effects that apply to damage from an artifact, creature,
enchantment, or planeswalker spell on the stack will continue to apply
to damage from the permanent that spell becomes."
So yes, Hallow can affect a hasty creature while it’s still a spell.
I’m not sure Giant Solifuge would fit through that little ring of
white light though.
--
Gavin Duggan, L3 Calgary: MTGRULES-L Netrep
Please read the list protocol before posting to this list:
* http://www.invisiblejuggernaut.org/DCIJUDGEL_protocol.html
------------------------------
Date: Thu, 20 Dec 2007 05:29:17 -0200
From: S=?ISO-8859-1?Q?=C3=AD=C2=ADlton?= Leonardo Paiva Nunes
Subject: Mindleech Mass x Serra Avenger
Gavin wrote: "Mindleech Mass provides the opportunity for Player A to play a
spell, but does not overrule timing restrictions on when the Avenger
can be played."
I believe that Avenger’s restriction only applies to player B, because
Avenger is on player B’s hand, so Avenger’s static ability refers to
player B.
Oracle:
Serra Avenger
WW
Creature - Angel
3/3
***YOU*** can’t play Serra Avenger during your first, second, or third
turns of the game.
Flying, vigilance
----------------------------------------------------------------
This message was sent using IMP, the Internet Messaging Program.
------------------------------
Date: Thu, 20 Dec 2007 00:31:28 -0800
From: Lee Sharpe
Subject: Re: Mindleech Mass x Serra Avenger
On Dec 19, 2007 11:29 PM, S=C3=AD=C2=ADlton Leonardo Paiva Nunes
wrote:
>
> Gavin wrote: "Mindleech Mass provides the opportunity for Player A to pla=
y a
> spell, but does not overrule timing restrictions on when the Avenger
> can be played."
>
> I believe that Avenger’s restriction only applies to player B, because
> Avenger is on player B’s hand, so Avenger’s static ability refers to
> player B.
You are wrong. Gavin’s answer is correct. "You" here refers to the
player attempting to play the spell, not the owner of the card. The
definition of "You" in the glossary states: "The words ’you’ and
’your’ on an object refer to ... its would-be controller (if a player
is attempting to play it)"
And you have been on this long enough to know that correcting a NetRep
on the list is not appropriate (especially, but not only, if the
NetRep is correct to begin with). Send a private e-mail to Gavin
instead next time you believe an answer is incorrect.
--=20
Lee Sharpe, lee.sharpe@gmail.com
DCI Level 3 Judge
WotC NetRep for EFnet’s #mtgjudge
------------------------------
Date: Thu, 20 Dec 2007 23:28:02 +1100
From: Graham White
Subject: Text-changing effects
I have two questions about text-changing effects
=20
Firstly, if I play Eyeblights Ending, or Terror, which of these can I do wi=
th Artificial Evolution or Mind Bend?
=20
1) Change "non-Elf" to "non-Goblin"
2) Change "non-Elf" to "Goblin"
3) Change "nonblack" to "nonred"
4) Change "nonblack" to "green"
=20
I think 1 and 3 are possible, but I’m confused by not being able to find a =
definition of "color word" anywhere.
=20
=20
If I create a Kithkin Soldier Token, and I target it with Artificial Evolut=
ion, changing "Kithkin" to "Frog", it is now a Frog Soldier. Its name is st=
ill "Kithkin Soldier" though, right?
=20
Thanks,
Graham White
Level 1 - Sydney
=20
=20
Eyeblight’s Ending 2B
Tribal Instant -- Elf
Destroy target non-Elf creature.
=20
Terror 1B
Instant
Destroy target nonartifact, nonblack creature. It can’t be regenerated.=20
=20
Artificial Evolution U=20
Instant
Change the text of target spell or permanent by replacing all instances of =
one creature type with another. The new creature type can’t be Wall.
=20
Mind Bend U
Instant
Change the text of target permanent by replacing all instances of one color=
word with another or one basic land type with another.
=20
_________________________________________________________________
Overpaid or Underpaid? Check our comprehensive Salary Centre
http://a.ninemsn.com.au/b.aspx?URL=3Dhttp%3A%2F%2Fcontent%2Emycareer%2Ecom%=
2Eau%2Fsalary%2Dcentre%3Fs%5Fcid%3D595810&_t=3D766724125&_r=3DHotmail_Email=
_Tagline_MyCareer_Oct07&_m=3DEXT=
------------------------------
Date: Fri, 21 Dec 2007 00:53:05 +1100
From: Graham White
Subject: Aura Swap
One of the examples in the Comprehensive Rules for 502.62b is the following=
:
=20
Example: You play the aura swap ability of an Aura that you control but you=
don’t own. The ability has no effect.
=20
Why is this the case, rather than the exchange taking place, 217.1a sending=
the Aura to its owner’s hand, and the Aura from your hand ending up in pla=
y? Does 217.1a’s sending the Aura to a different place count as one half of=
the exchange not being able to be completed?
=20
Thanks,
Graham White
Level 1 - Sydney
=20
502.62. Aura Swap
502.62a Aura swap is an activated ability of some Aura cards. "Aura swap [c=
ost]" means "[Cost]: You may exchange this permanent with an Aura card in y=
our hand."
502.62b If either half of the exchange can=92t be completed, the ability ha=
s no effect.
=20
=20
_________________________________________________________________
Your Future Starts Here. Dream it? Then be it! Find it at www.seek.com.au
http://a.ninemsn.com.au/b.aspx?URL=3Dhttp%3A%2F%2Fninemsn%2Eseek%2Ecom%2Eau=
%2F%3Ftracking%3Dsk%3Ahet%3Ask%3Anine%3A0%3Ahot%3Atext&_t=3D764565661&_r=3D=
OCT07_endtext_Future&_m=3DEXT=
------------------------------
Date: Thu, 20 Dec 2007 10:22:40 -0700
From: Gavin Duggan
Subject: Re: Aura Swap
On Dec 20, 2007 6:53 AM, Graham White wrote:
> You play the aura swap ability of an Aura that you control but you don’t own. The ability has no effect.
>
> Why is this the case, rather than the exchange taking place, 217.1a sending the Aura to its owner’s hand,
> and the Aura from your hand ending up in play?
"Exchange Aura Swap with an Aura in your hand" sounds like "Return
Aura Swap to your hand, and put an Aura from your hand into play
attached to the same creature"... but it’s not the same.
If Aura Swap did use the latter wording then it would work as you
specified above, because of CR217.1a. However, in order to exchange
two things each has to end up as the other was. Since it’s not
possible for the Aura swap to end up in your hand, the exchange is
impossible and nothing happens to either object [CR Glossary
"Exchange"].
--
Gavin Duggan, L3 Calgary: MTGRULES-L Netrep
Please read the list protocol before posting to this list:
* http://www.invisiblejuggernaut.org/DCIJUDGEL_protocol.html
------------------------------
End of MTGRULES-L Digest - 19 Dec 2007 to 20 Dec 2007 (#2007-270)
*****************************************************************
コメント