12月22日の日記

2007年12月22日
There are 2 messages totalling 79 lines in this issue.

Topics of the day:

1. Text-changing effects
2. Aura Swap

----------------------------------------------------------------------

Date: Thu, 20 Dec 2007 11:20:07 -0700
From: Gavin Duggan
Subject: Re: Text-changing effects

On Dec 20, 2007 5:28 AM, Graham White wrote:
> Firstly, if I play Eyeblights Ending, or Terror, which of these can I do with Artificial Evolution or Mind Bend?
>
> 1) Change "non-Elf" to "non-Goblin"
> 2) Change "non-Elf" to "Goblin"
> 3) Change "nonblack" to "nonred"
> 4) Change "nonblack" to "green"

(1) and (3) are legal... ’red’ and ’black’ are colour words, even when
part of a composite word; likewise with creature types. "Nonred" is
not a colour word... it’s a composite word containing another colour
word. Therefore (2) and (4) aren’t legal because we can’t replace all
of "nonred" with something else. To support this, check out at the
old reminder text on Magical Hack.

NB: it may not be as useful as you’d hoped.. because you can’t target
an elf with Eyeblight’s Ending (or a black creature with terror) and
then hack the spell to be legal. The targets must be legal when the
spell is played, and you can’t hack the spell until it’s been played.
Doh!

> If I create a Kithkin Soldier Token, and I target it with Artificial Evolution, changing "Kithkin" to "Frog", it is now a Frog Soldier.
> Its name is still "Kithkin Soldier" though, right?

Correct. AE changes the rules text, including type line, but not the name.

--
Gavin Duggan, L3 Calgary: MTGRULES-L Netrep
Please read the list protocol before posting to this list:
* http://www.invisiblejuggernaut.org/DCIJUDGEL_protocol.html

------------------------------

Date: Fri, 21 Dec 2007 09:43:10 +0600
From: Andrew Alchemist
Subject: Re: Aura Swap

Blessed be

GD> On Dec 20, 2007 6:53 AM, Graham White wrote:
>> You play the aura swap ability of an Aura that you control but you don’t own. The ability has no effect.
>>
>> Why is this the case, rather than the exchange taking place, 217.1a sending the Aura to its owner’s hand,
>> and the Aura from your hand ending up in play?

GD> "Exchange Aura Swap with an Aura in your hand" sounds like "Return
GD> Aura Swap to your hand, and put an Aura from your hand into play
GD> attached to the same creature"... but it’s not the same.

GD> If Aura Swap did use the latter wording then it would work as you
GD> specified above, because of CR217.1a. However, in order to exchange
GD> two things each has to end up as the other was.

Does the same priniple work when one or more replacement effects kick
in modifying where one or both objects being exchanged end up? Somehow
I don’t think so, but can find neither confirmation nor refutation in
the CR.

GD> Since it’s not possible for the Aura swap to end up in your hand,
GD> the exchange is impossible and nothing happens to either object
GD> [CR Glossary "Exchange"].

Good Luck
Andrew ’NightBeing’ Alchemist
L1 DCI# 52880669
Almaty, Kazakhstan

------------------------------

End of MTGRULES-L Digest - 20 Dec 2007 to 21 Dec 2007 (#2007-271)
*****************************************************************

コメント

最新の日記 一覧

<<  2025年6月  >>
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293012345

お気に入り日記の更新

テーマ別日記一覧

最新のコメント

この日記について

日記内を検索