There are 3 messages totalling 114 lines in this issue.

Topics of the day:

1. Text Changing Effects (2)
2. Spells on the stack and champion

----------------------------------------------------------------------

Date: Fri, 21 Dec 2007 16:09:05 -0500
From: Matthew Lashof-Regas
Subject: Re: Text Changing Effects

> > If I create a Kithkin Soldier Token, and I target it with Artificial
> Evolution, changing "Kithkin" to "Frog", it is now a Frog Soldier.
> > Its name is still "Kithkin Soldier" though, right?
>
> Correct. AE changes the rules text, including type line, but not the
> name.
>

If you were to use Artificial Evolution on the effect that creates the token
(Say, Militia’s Pride’s ability), before the token actually comes into play,
would its name then be Frog Warrior?

------------------------------

Date: Fri, 21 Dec 2007 15:01:22 -0700
From: Gavin Duggan
Subject: Re: Text Changing Effects

On Dec 21, 2007 2:09 PM, Matthew Lashof-Regas wrote:
> > > If I create a Kithkin Soldier Token, and I target it with Artificial
> > Evolution, changing "Kithkin" to "Frog", it is now a Frog Soldier.
> > > Its name is still "Kithkin Soldier"
>
> If you were to use Artificial Evolution on the effect that creates the token
> (Say, Militia’s Pride’s ability), before the token actually comes into play,
> would its name then be Frog Warrior?

Sort of. Artificial Evolution can only target a spell or permanent...
not an ability on the stack (and definately not an effect, which is
something else entirely), but I see where you’re going with it, and
yes: if you were to target Milita’s Pride itself (ie: target the
enchantment, not the ability on the stack), before its ability goes on
the stack it would create tokens both named Frog Warrior and with the
subtypes Frog Warrior.

Similarly, if you were to target a Raise the Alarm on the stack
(whether played as a card, or as a copy from Isochron Scepter), you
would change both the name and the types of the tokens created on
resolution.

--
Gavin Duggan, L3 Calgary: MTGRULES-L Netrep
Please read the list protocol before posting to this list:
* http://www.invisiblejuggernaut.org/DCIJUDGEL_protocol.html

------------------------------

Date: Sat, 22 Dec 2007 18:24:57 +0100
From: Patrik Linell
Subject: Spells on the stack and champion

A player asked me if he could play Faerie Trickery in response to a
spell and then in response to that play Mistbind Clique and champion
the Faerie Trickery. I’m fairly sure he’s not meant to be able to do
that, but as the rules stand I’d have to say that he can.

502.72a Champion represents two triggered abilities. "Champion an
[object]" means "When this permanent comes into play, sacrifice it
unless you remove another [object] you control from the game" and
"When this permanent leaves play, return the removed card to play
under its owner’s control."

The Faerie Trickery on the stack is clearly an object, he is
controlling it, and it is a Faerie. While the notes in the rules
primer seem to indicate that only permanents can be championed, the
rules do not say so.

However, since rule 502.72c reads...

502.72c A permanent is "championed" by another permanent if the latter
removes the former from the game as the direct result of a champion
ability.

...the land-tapping ability of Mistbind Clique should not trigger when
the Faerie Trickery is removed, as it is not a permanent. This doesn’t
sound like it was the intention.

Similarly, can Vedalken Aethermage be used to return a Sliver spell to
its owner’s hand, Venser-style?

Mistbind Clique
3U
Creature - Faerie Wizard
Flash
Flying
Champion a Faerie
When a Faerie is championed with Mistbind Clique, tap all lands target
player controls.
4/4

Vedalken AEthermage
1U
Creature - Vedalken Wizard
Flash
When Vedalken AEthermage comes into play, return target Sliver to its
owner’s hand.
Wizardcycling 3
1/2

------------------------------

End of MTGRULES-L Digest - 21 Dec 2007 to 22 Dec 2007 (#2007-272)
*****************************************************************

コメント

[ju:]
[ju:]
2007年12月25日1:43

クリスマス特別企画!
今日は翻訳しちゃいます(他にやることないんで)!

キスキン・兵士トークンがいて、そいつに《人口進化》で「キスキン」から「カエル」にしたとする。そうすると名前は「キスキン・兵士」のままなのか。また、もし仮に《人口進化》がトークンを生み出す効果(能力?)を対象に出来るとして(民兵団の誇りとかね)、トークンが場に出る前にその効果(能力?)を対象にすると、名前は「カエル・兵士」になるのか。

まぁそんな感じ。《人口進化》は呪文かパーマネントを対象に取ることができるワケで、スタック上の能力はムリだ(第一、「効果」ではなく「能力」だ。その2つは全然違う)。まぁ、言いたいことは分かるがね。もし、《民兵団の誇り》そのものを対象にして(つまり、スタック上の能力ではなく、エンチャントを対象にして)、能力がスタックに乗る前にそうすれば、名前もクリーチャー・タイプも「カエル・兵士」のトークンが生まれてくる。
似た感じで、スタック上の《急報》を対象に取れるとしても(カードとしてプレイされようと、《等時の王笏》のコピーとしてプレイされようと)、名前とクリーチャー・タイプを変えることができるだろうよ。

最新の日記 一覧

<<  2025年6月  >>
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293012345

お気に入り日記の更新

テーマ別日記一覧

最新のコメント

この日記について

日記内を検索