12月29日の日記

2007年12月29日
There are 5 messages totalling 215 lines in this issue.

Topics of the day:

1. Spells on the stack and champion (3)
2. MTGRULES-L Digest - 21 Dec 2007 to 22 Dec 2007 (#2007-272) (2)

----------------------------------------------------------------------

Date: Sat, 22 Dec 2007 14:00:16 -0800
From: Steve Earthbourne
Subject: Re: Spells on the stack and champion

Patrik Linell asks:
> A player asked me if he could play Faerie Trickery in response to a
> spell and then in response to that play Mistbind Clique and champion
> the Faerie Trickery. I’m fairly sure he’s not meant to be able to do
> that, but as the rules stand I’d have to say that he can...

I don’t think the last sentence of rule 502.72a that you quoted quite makes
sense if the Championed object isn’t a permanent:

"...When this permanent leaves play, return the removed card to play under
its owner’s control."

> can Vedalken Aethermage be used to return a Sliver spell to its owner’s
hand, Venser-style?

or better yet, a Nameless Inversion...

-Steve

------------------------------

Date: Sat, 22 Dec 2007 23:04:14 +0100
From: Patrik Linell
Subject: Re: Spells on the stack and champion

On Dec 22, 2007 10:58 PM, Steve Earth wrote:
> Patrik Linell asks:
>
> > A player asked me if he could play Faerie Trickery in response to a
> > spell and then in response to that play Mistbind Clique and champion
> > the Faerie Trickery. I’m fairly sure he’s not meant to be able to do
> > that, but as the rules stand I’d have to say that he can...
>
> I don’t think the last sentence of rule 502.72a that you quoted quite makes
> sense if the Championed object isn’t a permanent:
>
> "...When this permanent leaves play, return the removed card to play under
> its owner’s control."

At which point 217.1a would kick in, preventing the Faerie Trickery
from returning, but this still doesn’t say it can’t be removed in the
first place.

> > can Vedalken Aethermage be used to return a Sliver spell to its owner’s
> hand, Venser-style?
>
> or better yet, a Nameless Inversion...

Which is a Sliver spell...

------------------------------

Date: Sat, 22 Dec 2007 18:59:04 -0700
From: Gavin Duggan
Subject: Re: Spells on the stack and champion

On Dec 22, 2007 10:24 AM, Patrik Linell wrote:
> A player asked me if he could play Faerie Trickery in response to a
> spell and then in response to that play Mistbind Clique and champion
> the Faerie Trickery. I’m fairly sure he’s not meant to be able to do
> that, but as the rules stand I’d have to say that he can.

I agree, the "[object]" part of 502.72a is a bit misleading, but
fortunately there’s another rule which comes to the rescue.

> The Faerie Trickery on the stack is clearly an object, he is
> controlling it, and it is a Faerie.

This last part is where it breaks down... it isn’t "a Faerie", it’s a
"Faerie spell." According to 200.9, something is only "a Faerie" if
it’s a permanent:

200.9 If a spell or ability uses a description of an object that
includes a card type or subtype, but doesn’t include the word "card,"
"spell," or "source," it means a permanent of that card type or
subtype in play.

Champion is just such an ability. Similarly, Vedalken AEthermage
can’t venser a Sliver spell, because it’s not "a Sliver".

--
Gavin Duggan, L3 Calgary: MTGRULES-L Netrep
Please read the list protocol before posting to this list:
* http://www.invisiblejuggernaut.org/DCIJUDGEL_protocol.html

------------------------------

Date: Sun, 23 Dec 2007 13:49:33 +0100
From: Patrik Linell
Subject: Re: MTGRULES-L Digest - 21 Dec 2007 to 22 Dec 2007 (#2007-272)

On Dec 22, 2007 9:00 PM, MTGRULES-L automatic digest system
wrote:

> Date: Sat, 22 Dec 2007 18:24:57 +0100
> From: Patrik Linell
> Subject: Spells on the stack and champion
>
> A player asked me if he could play Faerie Trickery in response to a
> spell and then in response to that play Mistbind Clique and champion
> the Faerie Trickery. I’m fairly sure he’s not meant to be able to do
> that, but as the rules stand I’d have to say that he can.

(...)

> Similarly, can Vedalken Aethermage be used to return a Sliver spell to
> its owner’s hand, Venser-style?

Never mind the above questions. Louis Lopez pointed out to me that the
Lorwyn primer answers them, and after a bit more digging around I
found the rule doing so. For the benefit of others:

200.9. If a spell or ability uses a description of an object that
includes a card type or subtype, but doesn’t include the word "card,"
"spell," or "source," it means a permanent of that card type or
subtype in play.

I never read past 200.8 when looking for the definition of "object".

------------------------------

Date: Sun, 23 Dec 2007 13:31:09 +0000
From: Robert Stanjer
Subject: Re: MTGRULES-L Digest - 21 Dec 2007 to 22 Dec 2007 (#2007-272)

> Date: Sat, 22 Dec 2007 12:00:03 -0800> From: LISTSERV@ORACLE.WIZARDS.COM>=
Subject: MTGRULES-L Digest - 21 Dec 2007 to 22 Dec 2007 (#2007-272)> To: M=
TGRULES-L@ORACLE.WIZARDS.COM> > There are 3 messages totalling 114 lines in=
this issue.> > Topics of the day:> > 1. Text Changing Effects (2)> 2. Spel=
ls on the stack and champion> > -------------------------------------------=
---------------------------> > Date: Fri, 21 Dec 2007 16:09:05 -0500> From:=
Matthew Lashof-Regas > Subject: Re: Text Changing Ef=
fects> > > > If I create a Kithkin Soldier Token, and I target it with Arti=
ficial> > Evolution, changing "Kithkin" to "Frog", it is now a Frog Soldier=
.> > > Its name is still "Kithkin Soldier" though, right?> >> > Correct. AE=
changes the rules text, including type line, but not the> > name.> >> > If=
you were to use Artificial Evolution on the effect that creates the token>=
(Say, Militia’s Pride’s ability), before the token actually comes into pla=
y,> would its name then be Frog Warrior?> > ------------------------------>=
> Date: Fri, 21 Dec 2007 15:01:22 -0700> From: Gavin Duggan > Subject: Re: Text Changing Effects> > On Dec 21, 2007 2:09 PM, Ma=
tthew Lashof-Regas wrote:> > > > If I create a Kithk=
in Soldier Token, and I target it with Artificial> > > Evolution, changing =
"Kithkin" to "Frog", it is now a Frog Soldier.> > > > Its name is still "Ki=
thkin Soldier"> >> > If you were to use Artificial Evolution on the effect =
that creates the token> > (Say, Militia’s Pride’s ability), before the toke=
n actually comes into play,> > would its name then be Frog Warrior?> > Sort=
of. Artificial Evolution can only target a spell or permanent...> not an a=
bility on the stack (and definately not an effect, which is> something else=
entirely), but I see where you’re going with it, and> yes: if you were to =
target Milita’s Pride itself (ie: target the> enchantment, not the ability =
on the stack), before its ability goes on> the stack it would create tokens=
both named Frog Warrior and with the> subtypes Frog Warrior.> > Similarly,=
if you were to target a Raise the Alarm on the stack> (whether played as a=
card, or as a copy from Isochron Scepter), you> would change both the name=
and the types of the tokens created on> resolution.> > --> Gavin Duggan, L=
3 Calgary: MTGRULES-L Netrep> Please read the list protocol before posting =
to this list:> * http://www.invisiblejuggernaut.org/DCIJUDGEL_protocol.html=
> > ------------------------------> > Date: Sat, 22 Dec 2007 18:24:57 +0100=
> From: Patrik Linell > Subject: Spells on the stack an=
d champion> > A player asked me if he could play Faerie Trickery in respons=
e to a> spell and then in response to that play Mistbind Clique and champio=
n> the Faerie Trickery. I’m fairly sure he’s not meant to be able to do> th=
at, but as the rules stand I’d have to say that he can.> > 502.72a Champion=
represents two triggered abilities. "Champion an> [object]" means "When th=
is permanent comes into play, sacrifice it> unless you remove another [obje=
ct] you control from the game" and> "When this permanent leaves play, retur=
n the removed card to play> under its owner’s control."> > The Faerie Trick=
ery on the stack is clearly an object, he is> controlling it, and it is a F=
aerie. While the notes in the rules> primer seem to indicate that only perm=
anents can be championed, the> rules do not say so.> > However, since rule =
502.72c reads...> > 502.72c A permanent is "championed" by another permanen=
t if the latter> removes the former from the game as the direct result of a=
champion> ability.> > ...the land-tapping ability of Mistbind Clique shoul=
d not trigger when> the Faerie Trickery is removed, as it is not a permanen=
t. This doesn’t> sound like it was the intention.> > Similarly, can Vedalke=
n Aethermage be used to return a Sliver spell to> its owner’s hand, Venser-=
style?> > Mistbind Clique> 3U> Creature - Faerie Wizard> Flash> Flying> Cha=
mpion a Faerie> When a Faerie is championed with Mistbind Clique, tap all l=
ands target> player controls.> 4/4> > Vedalken AEthermage> 1U> Creature - V=
edalken Wizard> Flash> When Vedalken AEthermage comes into play, return tar=
get Sliver to its> owner’s hand.> Wizardcycling 3> 1/2> > -----------------=
-------------> > End of MTGRULES-L Digest - 21 Dec 2007 to 22 Dec 2007 (#20=
07-272)> *****************************************************************
Unless otherwise specified, whenever "faerie" or "Sliver", or any other cre=
ature type is named, it refers to a permanent.
=20
So, no, you cant champion faeries on the stack, and you cant return slivers=
on the stack to their owners hands, similarly in the way that the new trib=
e-cantrips from lorwyn don’t trigger themselves.
_________________________________________________________________
Get Hotmail on your mobile, text MSN to 63463!
http://mobile.uk.msn.com/pc/mail.aspx=

------------------------------

End of MTGRULES-L Digest - 22 Dec 2007 to 23 Dec 2007 (#2007-273)
*****************************************************************

コメント

最新の日記 一覧

<<  2025年6月  >>
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293012345

お気に入り日記の更新

テーマ別日記一覧

最新のコメント

この日記について

日記内を検索