1月17日の日記

2008年1月16日
There are 2 messages totalling 69 lines in this issue.

Topics of the day:

1. Boggart Mob (2)

----------------------------------------------------------------------

Date: Tue, 15 Jan 2008 16:43:59 -0500
From: Eric Shukan
Subject: Re: Boggart Mob

Gavin, according to this logic, it would appear to me that a creature that
WAS equipped when it died is assumed to BE equipped if LKI is neded. In my
mind, the phrase "Whenever a creature you control deals damage...." and
"Whenever equipped creature deals damage..." are identical ideas from this
interpretation. In the past, however, we have ruled that the "Whenever
equipped creature deals damage..." does not trigger if the stacked damage
resolves but the creature is no longer in play (because it is no longer
equipped - except that LKI appears to think it IS still equipped :) )

Can you reconcile this please? Thanks!!

Eric Shukan
DCI L3
Somerville, MA USA

> One such reminder rule is 310.4b: "The source of the combat damage is
> the creature as it currently exists, if it’s still in play. If it’s no
> longer in play, its last known information is used to determine its
> characteristics. "
>
> Unfortunately, it says ’characteristics’... which might lead some
> people to believe that’s the only information that LKI applies to, but
> last known information applies to ALL information that the game is
> trying to determine about the actor. This includes controller,
> flipped status, etc... the game effectively looks back in time to see
> the properties of the actor _as it was_.

------------------------------

Date: Tue, 15 Jan 2008 18:44:30 -0700
From: Gavin Duggan
Subject: Re: Boggart Mob

On Jan 15, 2008 2:43 PM, Eric Shukan wrote:
In the past, however, we have ruled that the "Whenever
> equipped creature deals damage..." does not trigger if the stacked damage
> resolves but the creature is no longer in play (because it is no longer
> equipped - except that LKI appears to think it IS still equipped :) )
>
> Can you reconcile this please? Thanks!!

You betcha... it was actually one of the more common questions I got
about this; probably could have clarified it in the earlier post.

The difference is in which card’s information we need. In the case of
Boggart Mob, the game needs to know information about the goblin
dealing damage... it’s not in play, so we need to use LKI. In the
"Equipped Creature" situation, we need information about the Equipment
(CR212.2j). Since the artifact is still in play, we don’t need to use
LKI at all... nothing is currently equipped to it.

--
Gavin Duggan, L3 Calgary: MTGRULES-L Netrep
Please read the list protocol before posting to this list:
* http://www.invisiblejuggernaut.org/DCIJUDGEL_protocol.html

------------------------------

End of MTGRULES-L Digest - 15 Jan 2008 to 16 Jan 2008 (#2008-6)
***************************************************************

コメント

最新の日記 一覧

<<  2025年6月  >>
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293012345

お気に入り日記の更新

テーマ別日記一覧

最新のコメント

この日記について

日記内を検索